Book Review – Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

isbn9781472209153-detailForgive Me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick
Publisher:  Headline
Release Date:  13 August 2013
Rating:  5/5
Source:  Sent over by the lovely Sam at Headline
Synopsis: A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher.

How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last?

Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he’ll do. He’ll say goodbye.

Not to his mum – who he calls Linda because it annoys her – who’s moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor’s daughter and a teacher.

Most of the time, Leonard believes he’s weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he’s not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye.

In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

Oh deary me… this book broke me.  To be fair, I’d had a bad week, read some ‘Debbie Downer’ books and just generally was feeling low.  Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock had me in fits of tears.  I remember high school, hell, middle school even, and feeling worthless at times.  I remember feeling like I had no friends and the few that I did have were incidental.  I remember the darkest days all too well, days when life seemed like it would never get any better.  I was Leonard, at times.  I think we all are at some stage.

Quick’s book was touching and emotional, particularly the “letters from the future.”  I loved that.  I enjoyed the quirks and the stories about his four friends, particularly his Bogart obsessed neighbor.  There was just something so comedic and yet pathetic about each of them… you can’t help but chuckle at how sad everything is.

This is one book I’ll be passing on to my younger sister, D, who is in the throes of her Leonard years as we speak… high school.  I think she’ll appreciate it.

For more information on Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock or on Matthew Quick (yes, he wrote Silver Linings Playbook), head over to Headline’s website or pop over to Quick’s website.


I may be on a blogging break but that doesn’t mean you can’t get in touch!  You can still tweet me at @stephanie_khani or @londondiaries1.  Alternatively you can email me at emailthelondondiaries [at]

One thought on “Book Review – Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Leave some love!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s